Health is Wealth.

Primal Baby, Primal.

IMG_0005

I took the plunge 2 weeks ago and bought something totally out of my comfort zone. As a general rule I’ve been trying to be more aware of the things I’m putting in and ON my body. It’s been an ongoing learning process, but one that I’m pretty proud of on a daily basis. A friend of mine called me an *almost* tree-hugger hippie the other day; and I cannot say that I wasn’t a little proud of that label. I think I’m super far from the real thing, but with that soft label comes the realization that I’m taking my health into my own hands. That’s something that I feel great about! SO MANY items on the shelves in the store have SO MANY chemicals, mold inhibitors, other preservatives, BPA’s, formaldehyde ….the list goes on. Back in the day our Great Grandparents grew their own veggies, the cows in the green field were slaughtered for their meat, unpasteurized & antibiotic-free whole milk came from un-treated (no pesticides) green field eating cows. The hens laid eggs from their lair, able to roam the farm grounds freely. I could go on, but you get the point. I have yet to see a photo of my Great Grandparents in their younger years, overweight. They look so wonderfully healthy and glowing in their black and white photo selves. Of course other things could potentially take them out. Disease, tobacco, alcohol. But food was not one of them. We’ve done so much tampering with our daily items (food, cosmetic, etc) that it’s a little un-nerving. To that respect, it’s absolutely possible to become totally obsessed with checking labels and in turn becoming generally terrified. This is why I say that every day it’s an ongoing, learning process to make good choices in the items that I consume inside and what I put on on the outside. Always making sure to be nice to myself if I can’t spend $1000 on one organic apple. But if I can buy mostly veggies and other healthful foods on my grocery trip; I’ve definitely succeeded.

For the past year I’ve been buying natural deodorant from a farm in California called Primal Pastures. Their products are Primally Pure. I was super skeptical on how it would work for me. I feel like I sweat a lot, especially during the summer and honestly, who wants pit stains? Gross. BUT I now know that most deodorants that I used to buy in the store (Secret, Degree, Dove) contain aluminum and fake fragrances which can potentially cause Breast Cancer, Alzheimer’s, Bone disorders and endocrine issues like Kidney Disease/Kidney Issues. Some of those big name deod’s list that they now have an “aluminum free” option, but then you have to watch for triclosan and propylene glycol. Also known to cause endocrine issues at a higher rate. So, buying my natural deodorant almost became a necessity for me, especially being in a stage where my husband and I may want to have children soon. I’m learning daily, and as I learn there are chances I don’t want to take. The BEST part? I can read and understand all of the ingredients!

Sensitive Skin Lavender Deoderant: Organic Arrowroot Powder, Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, Organic Tallow from Grass-Fed Cows, Baking Soda, Organic Beeswax, Organic Lavender Essential Oil

Everyone always asks if it works. Depends on what you want, I guess. If you never want to sweat again – it doesn’t work. However not sweating is totally unhealthy and it’s our body’s naturally built way of expelling toxins, not to mention cooling off! I will say though, that I tested this brand under some pretty stressful, hot and humid situations. On a paddleboard all day, in the sunny, humid, salty air. I didn’t stink. I did find that the non-sentitive product (Lemongrass scent) made my underarms super sensitive and a little rashy (like razor burn). But I purchased the Lavender Sensitive Skin product and haven’t had any issues since. Also (!) after about 6 months of using it, I’ve noticed my underarm sweat level dwindling. I’ve seen many reviews with this happening. I guess when you give your pits a chance to regulate, they can! (PS – Josh uses this too. Tea Tree scent.) It’s a tad pricier than what you would find at a store. But I’ll gladly pay $12.00/tube to feel good about my decision.

So naturally once you know you like a product and it works, a customer will at one point or another see what else they have to offer. I thought about skin issues I might be having, and instantly thought of my face. In the past 6 months or so I’ve noticed a great increase in redness and super dryness; on my cheeks especially. I want to dismiss the fact that it’s probably diet related, but I can’t. Since our wedding and also moving to the amazing Italian food world of the New England, our food choices haven’t been stellar. We still eat healthy, but it’s less often and our sugar intake has increased significantly. We are what we eat, and none of us are immune. *Remember: It’s always an ongoing learning process. Just acknowleding it and making the change, no matter how small it is at first, is a step in the right direction! In our case, we need to lay off the sugar and increase our whole foods – one ingredient items like fruits, veggies, chicken, etc.* But I know that just our food choices aren’t the culprit, I’m sure it’s age and just not using the correct products for my body. I had my very first facial 2 months ago and the strong accent Polish woman who reminded me of someone’s grandmother (but with impeccible skin) told me to lay off the exfoliating scrubs and use only items that soothed my skin, not inflame it. “OK”, I thought “definitely no more scrubs for me!” I was also using a Tea Tree wash from Trader Joe’s. While it definitely gave my skin the squeaky clean feeling I sought, it was SO DRY when I got out of the shower. So itchy and uncomfortable! So I did a little searching on Primally Pure’s website, read all the reviews and took the plunge. Cleansing OIL for dry & mature skin and Fancy Face Serum to regenerate and restore my skin. I know what you’re thinking, “OIL to wash your face?!?!?” I was skeptical too. But it’s AH-MAZING. Here’s the ingred’s:

Cleansing Oil/Dry + Mature Skin: extra virgin olive oil*, castor oil*, apricot kernel oil*, avocado oil*, grapeseed oil*, rosehip seed oil*, tamanu oil*, essential oils of grapefruit*, juniper*, and geranium*

*ORGANIC INGREDIENT

I was worried at first that my face would be oily and not feel clean after I washed it. Soooo not true! It’s been a week and 1/2 since I started using this, and it actually feels like my face has had a big ‘ol glug of hydration! It definitely feels softer with each wash. Also… as the instructions tell you:

  1. Massage a quarter-sized dollop of cleansing oil onto dry facial skin for 60 seconds.
  2. Wet a clean washcloth with warm water and place it onto face until washcloth cools.
  3. Gently wipe away impurities + excess oil with washcloth.

The ingredients have essential oils! So with a warm washcloth  how’s that for a quick aroma therapy in the morning?! Sweet! No fake scents = Healthy, Uplifting, Cleansing. This Oil Wash coupled with the Fancy Face Serum (rub in 5-6 drops on your face per day) has changed my face already in a week and 1/2. The redness is down and the dryness has almost completely resolved! When you see the ingredients you’ll be floored. ALL essential oils. Frankincense has been known to help cancer cells diminish; so I’m super stoked for what it’s doing for my easy job. I was wearing a little heavier make-up than normal (I hardly wear any at all on a normal day, so “a little heavier” is more like “I put it on my whole face now”) and using a creme blush to try and mask the redness; I almost feel confident enough to go totally without… except for mascara. Always need the mascara. Here’s the ingredients:

Fancy Face Serum: tamanu oil*, hazelnut oil*, neem oil*, pumpkin seed oil*, sea buckthorn oil*, argan oil*, baobab oil*, jojoba oil*, pomegranate seed oil*, elemi essential oil*, lavender essential oil*, cypress essential oil*, frankincense essential oil*, carrot seed essential oil*, helichrysum essential oil*, thyme essential oil*, lemon essential oil*

*ORGANIC INGREDIENT

This purchase hit our account for $71.00. THAT part is out of my comfort zone. (I told Josh the cost during a weak moment. He wasn’t too thrilled, but he also wasn’t too mad. Score one for me… I think?) I’m used to buying Oil of Olay or Neutrogena products. I mean,  I always have and they’ve worked totally fine! But surprise … they didn’t help my new issue! So $71.00 is a chunk of change. However these products will last a long time AND if they work and are good for me on the outside, then they’re good for me on the inside. THAT is priceless. Health is Wealth, baby. Health is Wealth.

xo,

T

Leave a Reply

